music

You Say It’s Your Birthday – John Lennon

John Lennon wallpapers

Picture yourself in a boat on a river
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies
Somebody calls you, you answer quite slowly
A girl with kaleidoscope eyes

John Lennon, of course. Lucy in the Sky.

Meter to me is unattainable. I can hear it, I’m sure I like it, I just can’t grasp it. It would take a whole lot of focus and concentration for me to get it. Hence, I leave it to the professionals.

John Lennon would have been 81 tomorrow, and Lucy in the Sky begins with one of my favorite lines of all time.

Photo from wallpapercave.

25 thoughts on “You Say It’s Your Birthday – John Lennon”

  1. I stumbled across (quite literally) a baby snapping turtle on a morning walk after hearing that the Lucy in Lucy in the Sky had just died. So when I picked up the little turtle I named it Lucy. As it got bigger we discovered that it was male so we changed its name to Lucky – in lucky I didn’t step on him. We kept him until he was big enough to release, a little over a year. He was quite a character, too. He would get so excited when we walked in the room. Just wanted to share. I miss Lucky. I like the first line of this song, too. Lennon had a huge influence on me, and my poetry I think. Thanks for posting this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment