life, nature

change

Evening walks feel different now. Sundown comes earlier, for sure. But it’s more than that.

Is it the seasons? People? Maybe people are tired of walking the same paths, the same trees, the same curves and dips in the surface. Parents tired of getting their kids and their bikes down to the trails, skinned knees, everybody trying to get along and enjoy nature. Or maybe it’s the kids who are tired of it. Maybe they’re getting ready for school, however school is going to work this year. I think there are fewer people walking the trails.

But it’s not just people. What was alive, thriving, robust, a month ago is starting to fade. I’m avoiding the words.

I look around and I see sad. Maybe lonely. Past the prime. On the way to a harsh reality I’m not ready to deal with.

There are fall flowers, but the brush is almost down to leafless sticks in many places. It can make you careless because there’s still poison ivy among whatever is growing. Already in September, trees are skimpier. Not bright fall colors and dropping leaves en masse, but leaves are weathered, and when you look up now, you see more sky than lush green. In July I could only hear moving water somewhere behind all the green, but now I can see right down to the creek.

Even the dirt looks pale, anemic. Surely the dirt doesn’t change.

September sunsets are lovely. Pale bits of amber light make it past the lowest branches. And September’s pretty wildflowers let you pretend. For just a little longer. But, ready or not, change is on its way.

4 thoughts on “change”

  1. I like how you wove this together. As a summer girl, I get the September blues as summer living is over and the dark, wet and cold will be here soon. The last few days have been different than in years past. It is like I am leaking sadness. It is coming out of me in a variety of ways. This post is comforting because it reminds me that I am not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know how this feels. I like heat and summer and I am seeing signs all round me of autumn. Cooler nights. Shorter days . The soybean fields are turning from green to gold. A few trees are showing orange and red. Change is coming just as you say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment