fireflies, lights, summer

the last bits of light

The little bright light was unmistakably the flash of a firefly. It was almost dark, and I was by the dogwood in the front when I saw it. At first, I thought how wonderful. And then I thought sadly, oh little guy, you’re way too late. This isn’t gonna work out for you.

I made my way to the back door, and whoah, another light flashed. And another. And seconds later another in the furthest part of the back yard, under the trees. At least four different bugs. After that I lost track because fireflies cover some distance between flashes. If I knew how, I would have said, hey, there’s a guy in the front looking for you.

It seems late for fireflies, but it’s been a strange year.

___________________________________
That isn’t a dogwood in the picture, and those aren’t fireflies. It was a little too late to take pictures, but those last bits of light call to me. Still, the fireflies were for real. I’ve been wordy of late. The end of summer puts thoughts in my head. Thanks for patiently reading and taking the time to tell me what you think.

10 thoughts on “the last bits of light”

  1. I love the bokeh in the photo! And I empathize with your plight of posting a photo of “not” subjects. It feels inauthentic to me so most times I don’t bother posting the photo and leave the words stand on their own merit.
    However, what you did was completely authentic and explains a whole lot about the situation and casted a wonderful light on you. At least by my uninformed opinion. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Frankly, I had the picture and the title drafted before I saw the hummingbirds a couple of nights ago, and I thought something like, ‘close enough’, because I will never have a picture of fireflies.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment