2021, life, pandemic

inertia

A year in pandemic is a bit like a long afternoon on the front porch. The same kind of boredom, but without the pleasant sense of relaxing. The same kind of inertia, but without the sweet breeze playing at the hair on the back of your head.

After months and months, the possibility you’ll come up with some motivation to think, oh yeah, that’s what I want to do…that possibility’s remote. It’s more like, let’s see, you ought to get up and clean out a couple of drawers. The other day I found a dollar bill in an old purse I hadn’t used in years. There was a spark of excitement, sort of delight, that lasted about one minute. Maybe I hoped it was a twenty dollar bill. At least a five.

19 thoughts on “inertia”

  1. I am not sure why I do not seem to have any time on my hands. Blogging, riding, house cleaning. It is all so time consuming. I think I keep busy to avoid worrying about this endless pandemic and to not have the time to listen to the endless bad news about it. At least it is bad news where I live in Ontario.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I have plenty to do to keep me busy, and with spring comes outdoor chores. But I look forward to the activities with friends, etc., that we’ve all had to do without this past year.

      Like

  2. A year out, I have the pandemic blahs. Nothing I read appeals to me. Ditto for watching series on streaming. Fortunately, the gardening bug has hit me and I have been spending quite a bit of time outside. Onward, ho!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a whole world full of us in the same predicament, and some have it worse, I know. I’m thinking about gardening too, and also more outdoor get-togethers with friends. The light at the end of the tunnel is getting closer, I think.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment