snow, winter

aligned



It’s about lines. Sometimes it’s about the lines.

Absent-minded, I look outside, and my brain works to pair long lines, from trees, with vertical panes, from the window. I like it when they’re perfectly parallel. When I take pictures in the woods, I angle the shot so trees naturally slanted to the sun come out straight up and down in the picture. Flowers too. And within the compulsion of these mental confines falls the nuisance and distraction of utility lines. Struggling to aim up over the lines so they don’t pull your eye from the clouds, or the sun, or the trees on the horizon. Sometimes, though, lines are inescapable. Sometimes you can’t take out the lines and have the same picture.

© Etikser. All Rights Reserved.

All photos and images here are my own.
They may not be used elsewhere or reblogged.

Please visit my other blog, Clover & Ivy, https://cloverandivy.wordpress.com.
I post mostly nature photos there.

13 thoughts on “aligned”

  1. I’m fortunate to have software containing an “impainting ” brush. When set slightly larger than the unwanted lines and you trace over them, the software attempts to mimic the colors on both sides– thus eliminating the lines. This has helped me during the nice sunsets in my neighborhood. Another trick is to use a clone brush, pick a nearby background, then brush over top the lines. This takes some practice. But I sometimes give it try this way. Nice photos anyway. Thanx for sharing.
    Art

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the tips. Those lines are especially annoying when I’m trying to get a sky or sunset. I’ll walk around outside trying to figure out where to stand to take the picture, and it doesn’t work very well. I appreciate your taking the time to comment!

      Like

Leave a comment