flashback, life, memories

1963

I’ve counted several times, and yes, November 1963 was sixty years ago. Those were days when the world experienced sadness in a terrible collective way. It was a time when kids had nuclear drills in school, when people were supposed to have fall-out shelters in their backyards. (We didn’t. We had a cellar with a metal cabinet, where we stored canned vegetables.) It was a year past the Cuban Missile Crisis, when my family huddled around this same TV set and listened to President Kennedy tell us about submarines and nuclear weapons. And we were a few scarce weeks away from hearing “I Want to Hold Your Hand” and discovering The Beatles.

1963.

20 thoughts on “1963”

  1. I remember those days, too. I was in the third grade. My dad bought a palate of concrete blocks to build a bomb shelter. He never did. We played on it, imagined it a ship. Later he bordered a garden with those blocks. We ate fresh food.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Good that you got fresh produce out of it. I remember asking my mother how we’d stay safe in our cellar, and she said something like we’d cover ourselves with sheets, and hide behind the washing machine. Even as a kid, I thought to myself, “And that’s gonna work?” Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. it was a good read and brought back memories. I was living on an Air Force base in Southwestern Ontario and we went through many air raid drills. (Editor: your text is difficult to read. Make more of a contrast. On all of your text

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment